Réseau Thématique
Pluridisciplinaire (RTP)
Éducation

Unit 1 - Educational inequality

Unit 1 of the MTN brings together researchers from various disciplines who are interested in the issue of educational inequality in the broadest sense. This question does not boil down to social or school inequalities but is part of a broader educational process that takes place in formal (e.g., school) and informal (e.g., in the family, among peers, or in leisure) settings. This issue is approached by crossing the perspectives of different disciplines (sociology, language sciences, developmental psychology, neurosciences, cognitive psychology, economics, geography…). The nature of inequality, its causes, as well as the ways to reduce it are considered. The interest of this Unit is to bring together and federate researchers with very different theoretical and methodological approaches in order to come up with an enhanced approach taking in to account all aspects of inequalities by means of cross-viewpoints. The geographical, family and school environment, as well as biological determinants are all taken into consideration. The means necessary to reduce inequalities are assessed and questioned.

The Unit is the locus of research data sharing through regular exchanges, presentations of the results of meta-analyses and targeted studies, as well as day conferences where academics from different disciplines present research in their own field or interdisciplinary research. The notion of inequality is approached from an epistemological point of view.

In the start-up phase, the members of the Unit organized a day conference on the understanding of “educational inequalities” as a concept, viewed from the various disciplines represented at the conference. Following this event, the members of the Unit decided to change gears and approach the issue more from a “bridging” than a “bonding” viewpoint, which moreover is perfectly in line with the flagship mission of MTN, i.e., to foster interdisciplinary knowledge. Currently, our debates focus on the notion of crisis (health, migration, urban, climatic, geopolitical, political, economic, etc.) and its repercussions on educational inequalities. This is a more phenomenological than disciplinary stance, and the challenge will be to work together by favouring theoretical and methodological similarities, without necessarily losing sight of our respective disciplinary fields. We start from the observation that in recent years great societal changes have taken place, which have profoundly affected the roles of parents and children at school, the pedagogical contents, the way of teaching, the pedagogical relationship between teacher and student, and the teachers’ sense of professional efficiency. These changes necessarily have repercussions on inequalities and our purpose is to address this issue through an interdisciplinary approach.

Découvrez les autres axes de recherche

Unit 2 – Comparative educational policies (organisation and professions, tools, and evaluation)

Unit 3 – Pedagogical practices and devices: design, analysis, and assessment

Unit 4 – Theorising the links with school practices

Actualités de l'axe

Découvrez prochainement l'actualité

Réseau Thématique
Pluridisciplinaire (RTP)
Éducation

AXE 1 - Inégalités éducatives

CNRS-article-2-photo

L’axe 1 du RTP regroupe des chercheuses et chercheurs de disciplines variées qui s’intéressent à la question des inégalités éducatives au sens large. Cette question ne se réduit pas aux inégalités sociales ou scolaires mais s’insère dans un processus éducatif plus large se déroulant dans des milieux formels (par exemple l’école) et informels (par exemple dans la famille, entre pairs ou dans les associations). Cette question est envisagée en croisant les apports de différentes disciplines (sociologie, sciences du langage, psychologie du développement, neurosciences, psychologie cognitive, économie, géographie…). La nature des inégalités, leurs causes, ainsi que les manières de les réduire sont envisagées. L’intérêt de l’axe est de regrouper et fédérer des chercheurs ayant des approches théoriques et méthodologiques très différentes afin de croiser les regards et d’avoir une approche riche permettant d’envisager toutes les facettes des inégalités. L’environnement géographique, familial, scolaire, ainsi que les déterminants biologiques sont pris en compte. Les moyens de diminuer les inégalités sont évalués et questionnés.

L’axe permet un partage de données de recherche à travers des moments d’échanges réguliers, des présentations de résultats de méta-analyses et d’études ciblées, ainsi que lors de journées d’étude pendant lesquelles les chercheuses et chercheurs de différentes disciplines présentent des recherches dans leur champ disciplinaire ou des recherches interdisciplinaires. Une réflexion épistémologique sur la notion d’inégalités est menée.

Dans la phase de démarrage, les membres de l’axe ont organisé une journée d’étude sur la manière d’appréhender la notion d’« inégalités éducatives » à partir des champs disciplinaires qui le composent. A la suite de cet évènement, les membres de l’axe ont décidé de changer de registre et entamer une réflexion plus de caractère « bridging » que « bonding » ; ce qui d’ailleurs correspond à la mission phare du RTP, à savoir, proposer des connaissances d’ordre interdisciplinaire. Actuellement notre réflexion porte sur la notion de crise (crise sanitaire, migratoire, urbaine, climatique, géopolitique, politique, économique, etc.) et ses répercussions sur les inégalités éducatives. C’est une posture plus d’ordre phénoménologique que disciplinaire, et l’enjeu sera de travailler ensemble en privilégiant les similarités théoriques et méthodologiques, sans forcément faire abstraction de nos domaines disciplinaires respectifs. Nous partons du constat que ces dernières années de grands changements sociétaux ont eu lieu, et ont profondément bouleversé l’accueil des parents et des enfants à l’école, les contenus pédagogiques, la manière de dispenser l’enseignement, la relation pédagogique enseignant-élève, le sentiment d’efficacité professionnel des enseignants. Ces changements ont forcément des répercussions sur les inégalités et nous nous proposons d’aborder cette question avec une approche interdisciplinaire.

Découvrez les autres axes de recherche

Axe 2 : Politiques éducatives comparées (organisation et professions, instruments et évaluation)

Axe 3 : Pratiques et dispositifs pédagogiques (face aux données)

Axe 4 – Penser le lien avec le terrain scolaire

Actualités de l'axe

30 juin 2021
Retour sur la journée d’étude épistémologique du 22 juin 2021 la notion « d’inégalités éducatives »
L’axe 1 du RTP (Inégalités éducatives) a organisé le 22 juin 2021 en...